The ELCA was formed in 1988 from three separate North American church bodies: The American Lutheran Church, The Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches, and The Lutheran Church in America. The ELCA has approximately 10,500 congregations throughout the United States, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands, with 4.8 million members. These congregations are organized into 65 synods.  Kent Lutheran Church is part of Northwest Washington Synod with offices located in Seattle, Washington. Bishop Kirby Unti currently presides over the NW WA Synod. The Presiding Bishop of the ELCA is Bishop Elizabeth Eaton.  The national offices of the ELCA, our churchwide organization, are located in Chicago, Illinois.

Additional information about the Northwest Washington Synod can be found by clicking on this website link.